Home / News / What are the classifications of health foods?

What are the classifications of health foods?

By admin / Date Nov 02,2021
Health foods are divided into two categories according to the food objects: one is for healthy people, mainly to supplement nutrients and meet the needs of different stages of the life cycle; the other is mainly for people with certain physiological functions, and emphasizes it. Regulating function in preventing disease and promoting recovery.

The standard stipulates that health foods should have functional ingredients corresponding to their functions and their minimum content. Functional ingredients refer to substances that can regulate human body functions by activating the activity of enzymes or other ways, mainly including:
1. Polysaccharides: such as dietary fiber, lentinan, etc.;
2. Functional sweeteners (agents): such as monosaccharides, oligosaccharides, polyol sugars, etc.;
3. Functional oils (fatty acids): such as polyunsaturated fatty acids, phosphate esters, choline, etc.;
4. Free radical scavengers: such as superoxide dismutase (SOD), glutathione peroxidase, etc.;
5. Vitamins: such as vitamin A, vitamin C, vitamin E, etc.;
6. Peptides and proteins: such as glutathione, immunoglobulin, etc.;
7. Active bacteria: such as polylactic acid bacteria, bifidobacteria, etc.;
8. Trace elements: such as selenium, zinc, etc.;
9. Other categories: octacosanol, plant sterols, saponins (glycosides), etc.