Home / News / Industry News / Are HPMC Capsules Vegetarian/Vegan?

Are HPMC Capsules Vegetarian/Vegan?

By admin / Date May 31,2023
Are HPMC Capsules Vegetarian/Vegan?

Most vitamin and supplement capsules are made from a material called HPMC (hydroxypropyl methylcellulose). It is an ideal substance that is clear, tasteless, and vegetarian and vegan appropriate.
However, it should be noted that a lot of HPMC is produced from synthetic processes. This is because cellulose can be altered in this way.

Some HPMC is also coated with a colouring agent such as titanium dioxide. This is a common synthetic additive that has some associated health risks and warnings.

The colouring process is based on a chemical reaction that involves the hydrolysis of propylene oxide, which is a known carcinogen and chloromethane which can cause respiratory problems.
There are other natural colours that can be used such as a coating of chlorophyll to create green shades or a purple capsule shell using a carrot extract.

Veggie Capsules are a great alternative to gel caps for those following a vegetarian diet. Unlike gel caps, veggie capsules are vegetable-sourced and contain no gelatin, wheat, or animal by-products.
Vegetarian Capsules are easy to digest and break down in less than 20 minutes. The nutrients within are absorbed quickly, improving the therapeutic effects of the active ingredients.

Vegetarian capsules are typically Kosher and Halal certified. This ensures that they satisfy dietary restrictions. They are also manufactured in cGMP-approved facilities and follow strict quality control procedures.